Sunday, April 28, 2019

Build Your Child's Vocabulary through Reading with Scholastic

[Sponsored Review + Discount Code]

Building up vocabulary is important for the children to have a wider repertoire of words to describe, explain and express their thoughts. One way to build vocabulary is through reading. Here are 3 tips on how we help our children to build their vocabulary during reading time.

1. Use dictionary
Reading a book without understanding some of the words would hinder the process of linking the context. When our children were younger, we explained the words to them. I would have the dictionary on my handphone with me, just in case I was not sure how to explain that word. As our children are now older, we let them use the dictionary on our handphone when they are reading. Of course, the ground rule is that they cannot use our handphone for other purpose!

2. Write down the words
We ask our children to write down the new words or phrases in their "word bank" book. In addition, the meaning and an example of sentence are included. This collection would also help them in writing composition.

3. Use the words in daily conversation
Sometimes when my children ask me about new words, I would take note of that, and try to talk to them using some of those words, or ask them questions to get them to use those words in their response.

Here are our children's current reads of Scholastic books which are useful in building the vocabulary. Check out the discount code at the end of this post!

Geronimo on Ice!



Author: Geronimo Stilton
Age: 10 - 12

Synopsis:
Mouse Island was getting ready for the winter Ice Skating Championships! The prize for this year's champions was a pair of antique silver skates that were said to contain clues to a hidden treasure! Just before the championships, we learn someone wants to steal the Silver Skates to search for the treasure! I had to join the competition to help keep the skates safe. But I didn't know how to ice skate! Would I be able to learn enough tricks on the ice to save the Silver Skates?

Highlight: This title has a new cover design!



The Missing Ace



Author: Cosentino
Age: 10 - 12

Synopsis:
Cosentino's performances at his run-down old theatre attract the wrong kind of attention when the Ace of Spades dashes through the door begging to be saved from the clutches of the evil two-headed King! When Cosentino is captured he's thrown into the dungeon at the bottom of the castle, which no one has ever escaped.

Product url: http://www.readershouse.com.sg/product/the-missing-ace


Mermaids to the Rescue: Nixie Makes Waves




Author: Lisa Ann Scott
Age: 10 - 12

Synopsis:
Nixie can't wait to join the Royal Mermaid Rescue Crew. Along with a magical seapony partner, she'll save merpeople in danger and use her natural creativity to keep the seas safe! But then Nixie gets matched with Rip - a super-speedy seapony who's at the top of his class, but also a strict rule-follower. Rip and Nixie couldn't be more different! Will Nixie be able to befriend Rip...or will she have to look for another fish in the sea?

Highlight: Fans of Rainbow Magic and Mermaid Tales will love this new series full of adventures under the sea!

Product url: http://www.readershouse.com.sg/product/nixie-makes-waves/


Dog Man: Lord of the Fleas



Author: Dav Pilkey
Age: 10 - 12

Synopsis:
When a new bunch of baddies bust up the town, Dog Man is called into action -- and this time he isn't alone. With a cute kitten and a remarkable robot by his side, our heroes must save the day by joining forces with an unlikely ally: Petey, the World's Most Evil Cat. But can the villainous Petey avoid vengeance and venture into virtue?

Highlight: Dav Pilkey, the creator of  Captain Underpants, his wildly popular Dog Man series appeals to readers of all ages and explores universally positive themes, including empathy, kindness, persistence, and the importance of being true to one's self.

Product url: http://www.readershouse.com.sg/product/dog-man-lord-of-the-fleas-dog-man-5/


Discount Code for Scholastic Books at Reader's House

All PeiPei.HaoHao readers can enjoy 20% off discount for Scholastic books on Reader's House website!
Discount code: PEIHAO20
Website: http://www.readershouse.com.sg
How to use: At the cart checkout, type PEIHAO20 and then click Apply Coupon
Terms and Conditions: The discount code is applicable to only Scholastic books on Reader's House website, it is not applicable to the shipping fee.


Scholastic Asia


Disclaimer: We received the books for review purpose. No monetary compensation was received. All opinions and photos are mine. 

Thank you for visiting PeiPei.HaoHao. If you enjoy reading this post, do stay connected with us on Facebook!

No comments :

Post a Comment